Recent Awards


Engineering lands three Career Impact Awards

Friday, May 3, 2024
Two faculty and a staff member of the University of Iowa College of Engineering were recognized with Career Impact Awards by the Pomerantz Career Center.
Alexis Slade candid

CEE graduate student recognized for deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership

Monday, April 29, 2024
Alexis Slade, a University of Iowa PhD candidate in civil and environmental engineering, has received the President's Student Leadership Award for showing a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership.
Bill Bangel PhD student and Xuan Song

ISE's Bangel named Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Monday, April 29, 2024
Bill Bangel is a University of Iowa PhD candidate in industrial and systems engineering and a graduate research assistant in the Additive Manufacturing-Integrated Product Realization Laboratory.
PhD student Riley Post in front of iowa river

CEE's Riley Post honored with 2024 Hancher-Finkbine award

Monday, April 29, 2024
Ten University of Iowa students, faculty, staff, and alumni received awards April 16 at the 107th Finkbine Dinner Celebration.
Nicole Grosland

Nicole Grosland honored with Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service

Monday, April 29, 2024
Nicole M. Grosland, associate dean for academic programs and Distinguished Professor in the College of Engineering, was recognized as an outstanding University of Iowa faculty member who has made exceptional contributions to the university and the community.
Jun Wang poses near a sensor outside

Jun Wang receives Regents Faculty Excellence Award

Tuesday, April 23, 2024
The Iowa Board of Regents has selected six outstanding University of Iowa faculty members, including Jun Wang of the College of Engineering, to be honored for their extraordinary contributions and sustained record of excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service.
James Ankrum

Ankrum receives Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award

Friday, April 19, 2024
James Ankrum, University of Iowa associate professor in the Roy J. Carver Department of Biomedical Engineering, was among four selected for the award provides funding and development opportunities for outstanding tenured associate professors who have established national or international reputations in their disciplines and are exceptional teachers in and out of the classroom.
Chris Knutson

Knutson receives Excellence in Safety Award

Friday, April 19, 2024
The University of Iowa's Laboratory Safety Committee has recognized Chris Knutson, lab director at IIHR—Hydroscience and Engineering, with the Excellence in Safety Award – Individual Recognition. Knutson manages laboratories for graduate research.
Grayson Talaski

BME student receives Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award

Wednesday, April 10, 2024
Grayson Talaski, a third-year biomedical engineering major, was honored at a student celebration on February 28 for receiving an Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award from the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR).
Jun wang standing in front of space background

CBE's Jun Wang named 2024 Scholar of the Year

Thursday, April 4, 2024
Jun Wang, a University of Iowa professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, has been named the 2024 Scholar of the Year. The award recognizes Wang's prolific track record as a researcher and leader in his field of remote sensing, wildfire detection, and air quality research.