What is ESAC?

The Engineering Staff Advisory Council (ESAC) is an elected body of staff members that represents fellow staff members in the College of Engineering.  

ESAC facilitates communication within the college, represents staff concerns and issues to College of Engineering Administration, and ensures staff involvement in committees and discussions that affect College of Engineering staff. 

ESAC also promotes local community service and social activities to encourage community-building within the College of Engineering, and to give back in our larger community.

Upcoming ESAC Meetings

Any staff employed in the College of Engineering may attend.

Monday, Feb. 20, 2:30 to 3:30 p.m., on Zoom

Wednesday, March 22, 10 to 11 a.m., on Zoom

Read past meeting minutes here

News & Events


The Engineering Staff Advisory Council consists of four standing committees and ad hoc committees. The council may create ad hoc committees to plan, develop, implement, or investigate activities and projects. Any staff member employed in the College of Engineering may serve on an ad hoc committee.

Standing Committees:

  1. Executive: Formulate goals and direction for council, solicit constituent input, and express concerns to and receive feedback from College of Engineering administration, Engineering Administrative Council, Engineering Faculty Council, and Engineering Student Council.
  2. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures: Review bylaws and policies and recommend revisions, and act as parliamentary advisor in order to maintain productive ESAC meetings.
  3. Elections: Carry out elections in accordance with the council bylaws and to solicit candidates for vacant seats on the council.
  4. Staff Awards: Solicit and review nominations, and send recommendations to the Dean for the Mary Sheedy Staff Excellence, Staff Community Engagement, Staff Research, and Staff Student Success Awards

Ad Hoc Committees:

  1. Engagement and Inclusion: Increase awareness of the College of Engineering’s many people, projects, and centers. We seek to creatively connect with units and individuals within the college to foster a sense of community and collaboration. We want to build bridges between the College of Engineering and the broader community, to listen to and support communities who may not have been included or accounted for within current engineering communities or outreach efforts. 
  2. Publicity and Greeting: Promote operations by maintaining active communication outlets and increasing engineering staff involvement; reach out to new staff members 
  3. Sustainability: Increase awareness for and encourage participation in campus sustainability initiatives, and explore new opportunities to reduce the College of Engineering’s ecological footprint.

2022-2023 Counselors

Photo Member Name Committee Involvement Email Address Affiliation Term Limits
Andrew Veit
Andrew Veit

Executive (president)

Andrew-Veit@uiowa.edu National Advanced Driving Simulator July 2021 to June 2023
Brian Morelli
Brian Morelli Executive (vice president) Brian-Morelli@uiowa.edu Iowa Technology Institute December 2020 to June 2023
Kristine Roggentien
Kristine Roggentien Executive (secretary) Kristine-Roggentien@uiowa.edu National Advanced Driving Simulator July 2021 to June 2023
  Hillary Ramaker Executive (treasurer) hillary-ramaker@uiowa.edu Industrial and Systems Engineering July 2022 to June 2024
Derek Ikoma
Derek Ikoma   derek-ikoma@uiowa.edu

CoE Administration

July 2022 to June 2024
Alyssa Burks
Alyssa Burks   alyssa-burks@uiowa.edu CoE Administration July 2022 to June 2024
Justine Hines
Justine Hines   justine-hines@uiowa.edu CoE Administration July 2022 to June 2024
Breanna Shea
Breanna Shea   Breanna-Shea@uiowa.edu

IIHR Hydroscience and Engineering

July 2021 to June 2023
Diane Fountain
Diane Fountain Advisor diane-fountain@uiowa.edu CoE Human Resources Ex Officio
April Tippett
April Tippett Advisor April-Tippett@uiowa.edu CoE Finance and Operations Ex Officio