Monday, December 19, 2016

Seven College of Engineering students have received scholarship and fellowship grants from the Iowa Space Grant Consortium (ISGC).

The scholarship winners are Jesse Haworth, a freshman in biomedical engineering, Emma Hawk, undergraduate student in electrical engineering, and Cory Reuter, a senior in mechanical engineering.

Kayley Lain, graduate student in mechanical engineering, Sarah Gerard, graduate student in biomedical engineering, Kasra Zarei, graduate student in biomedical engineering, and Rebecca Mattson, graduate student in civil and environmental engineering, received fellowships.

A part of NASA’s National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program since 1990, the Iowa Space Grant Consortium strives to improve and inspire Iowa’s future in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM). The ISGC supports aerospace research, education, and outreach activities through five program categories: internships, fellowships, scholarships; higher education; research infrastructure; precollege; and informal education.

The ISGC carries out its goals with the help of four universities across the state of Iowa -- the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, the University of Northern Iowa, and Drake University, as well as a number of private industry, educational and government organizations, and science museums.