Engineering faculty

96 Tenure-track faculty
16 Instructional-track faculty


Research productivity

Per tenure-track faculty


National Academy of Engineering members


Named and distinguished chairs


Named and distinguished professorships


Named and distinguished faculty fellows

Faculty Achievements

Professor Keri Hornbuckle

Keri Hornbuckle, professor of civil and environmental engineering, has been named a 2023 University of Iowa Distinguished Chair, one of the most prestigious honors granted to Iowa faculty members. The internationally recognized leader in environmental engineering has focused on the exposure and emission of air pollutants.

Professor Ching-Long Lin

Ching-Long Lin, professor and departmental executive officer of mechanical engineering, has been developing a deep learning model that can evaluate and classify data from lung images. The intent is to help treat long-term lung infections in post-COVID patients.

Professor David Murhammer

David Murhammer, professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, received the 2023 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence for his exceptional contributions to student learning and success.

Professor Soura Dasgupta

Soura Dasgupta, professor in electrical and computer engineering, is collaborating on a multidisciplinary research project to improve detection and treatment of Parkinson’s disease.