shriya standing on a balcony in front of a city skyline

Who are you?

    -Name: Shriya Nangia
    -Major: Computer Science and Engineering
    -Minors/Certificates: Business
    -Year: Sophomore       
    -Hometown: Singapore

What is one piece of advice you would give to an incoming freshman?
Get involved! Join a club or society, take up an on-campus job, or something else you think you might enjoy and see how it goes. It’s a great way to meet new people and give something you’re interested in a try.

What organizations outside the college of engineering do you belong to?
South Asian Student Alliance, Indian Student Alliance (Exec Board), Women in Science and Engineering

Have you had any international experience? If so, where did you go, for how long, and what did you do?
As a student from Singapore, I have traveled to countries within Southeast Asia such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Cambodia, and the Philippines. I'd also make frequent trips to India specifically New Delhi and Mumbai. I have been to China, Hong Kong, Australia, UK and Canada as well. There are 2 travels that have really stood out – one of them being a week’s trip to Beijing, China, which I went for with my dance school. I got a chance to visit and observe classes at the renowned Beijing Dance Academy and tour the capital of China. Another was a service-learning trip to Cambodia through my high school.

How are you an "engineer ... and something more"?
In my first semester of freshmen year, I was part of the Woman’s Ultimate Frisbee team, through which I got to meet great new people, become much better at the sport, and compete in a competition or two. To continue pursuing my interest in dance, I took Intermediate jazz as a Gen Ed which was super fun, as well as a few classes by the Dance Club (through which I got to perform at Iowa Wild). Currently, I am involved in planning Gathe Raho, a collegiate South Asian A'Cappella competition and I am also working as a College Transition Workshop Leader.

Is there something else you'd like to tell us about yourself?
I enjoy adventure sports, and some activities I have tried are abseiling, caving, zip-lining, skydiving and whitewater rafting. I would really love to spend time outdoors exploring trails in and around Iowa once I’m back on campus.

What is your favorite part about being a student at The University of Iowa?
I love how ​you are supported by this engineering community which guides and works with you towards achieving your goals, all while getting to be on a big-10 campus!

Who is your favorite professor and why?
Prof Guadalupe Canahuate. She was my professor for Intro to Engineering Computing. Coding in C++ was something new for me but she made lectures really interesting and easy to follow, building my interest in coding. You could make out that she cared about her students and was passionate about teaching. She was also really helpful during office hours.

What has been your favorite course?
Intro to Engineering Computing was the first class in which I was exposed to coding and it firmed up my decision of doing CSE as a major.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time at The University of Iowa?
I enjoy going for events planned by CAB, going for shows held at Hancher (some I have been to so far - Rent, Urban Bushwomen: Hair and Other Stories, Dance Gala), going for a swim at the Rec, and exploring the different restaurants around Iowa City.