Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Four University of Iowa faculty members have received the 2020 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence in recognition of their years of outstanding teaching. The recipients are: Nancy Abram, associate professor of practice in the Tippie College of Business Department of Marketing; Stella Burch Elias, professor and Chancellor William Gardiner Hammond Fellow in Law; Julia Kleinschmit, clinical associate professor in the School of Social Work in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; and Suresh M.L. Raghavan, professor of biomedical engineering in the College of Engineering.

The award, which is administered by the UI Council on Teaching, was created in 2004 as a university-wide recognition for faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained, high level of teaching excellence.

Suresh M.L. Raghavan, professor of biomedical engineering in the College of Engineering, teaches courses to all levels of engineering students. Student feedback speaks to his highly effective teaching style and his emphasis on deeper understanding of concepts. He also provides research opportunities and mentoring to students and medical fellows in his research lab, including for a large number of undergraduate students, many of whom have gone on to attend graduate school and pursue research careers. Deeply committed to students’ career success, he works diligently to establish and maintain industry relationships that continue to provide students with development opportunities. As an active leader in the American Society of Mechanical Engineering Bioengineering Division, Raghavan has promoted student success at the national level through his efforts to introduce innovative programs that provide undergraduate and graduate engineering students across the country with valuable career exploration activities and connect employers with students. He is actively engaged with the Fulbright community in the state of Iowa.

Original story at: