Monday, April 23, 2018

Engineering Professional Development hosted its Fourth Annual Awards Banquet Wednesday, April 18, 2018. The night included updates from engineering student organizations, an etiquette speaker, dinner, and an awards ceremony. This year's featured speaker was author and image and etiquette consultant Luann Alemao.

The banquet is an annual celebration honoring College of Engineering student organizations and advisors, community partners, and students for outstanding leadership and service. The purpose of the banquet is to foster a strong sense of pride in the college, recognize the accomplishments of students and student groups, and encourage students to seek out experiences that make them great engineers and leaders. Group, individual, and community partner awards were given in various categories.

The 2017-2018 award winners are:

Group Awards

  • Most Improved Student Organization - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • Outstanding Student Organization for Service, Diversity, or Outreach - Society of Women Engineers
  • Outstanding Student Organization - Society of Automotive Engineers Baja
  • Outstanding Company Sponsor/Community Partner Award - John Casko, IDx LLC

Individual Awards

  • Most Promising New Member - Katelyn Murhammer, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • Unsung Hero - Patrick Karanja, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Alexis Anderson, Biomedical Engineering, National Society of Black Engineers
  • Outstanding Student Researcher - Aaron Silva, Biomedical Engineering
  • Outstanding Research Mentor - Fatima Toor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Outstanding Student Organization Advisor - James Buchholz, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Iowa Marine Autonomous Racing Club
  • Outstanding College of Engineering Student Employee - Jackie Ricke, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Student Development Center/Hanson Center
  • Outstanding Student Teacher - Hassan Ahamed, Biomedical Engineering
  • Outstanding Intern - Luke Kottemann, Electrical and Computer Engineering, PRVN Consultants
  • Outstanding Co-op - Colton Myers, Biomedical Engineering, Zimmer Biomet
  • Outstanding Leader - Rob Pohren, Mechanical Engineering, Society of Automotive Engineers Baja
  • Engineer and Something More - Victor Sun, Mechanical Engineering