BS 1968 in Civil Engineering, MS 1972, PhD 1975 in Environmental Engineering

Dr. L. D. McMullen

L.D. McMullen is Water Resources Practice Leader for Snyder & Associates, Ankeny, IA, an engineering consulting firm.  He is retired CEO and general manager of the Des Moines, IA, Water Works. His career spans 50 years in the environmental engineering field.  He has been recognized at both the national and regional levels for his contributions toward producing safe and quality drinking water. During the Midwest Floods of 1993, he and his staff received nationwide attention for their engineering accomplishments in restoring drinking water to Des Moines. In 1998, Dr. McMullen and his staff completed one of the Upper Midwest's largest "design and build" concept water plant projects.

Dr. McMullen is a former member of the Environmental Protection Agency's Science Advisory Board. He also has served two terms as Chair of the National Drinking Water Advisory council of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and on the Science Advisory Board Drinking Water Committee also of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He has served as Diplomat for water supply/wastewater of the American Academy of Environmental Engineers; Water Industry Delegation Leader to China for the Citizen Ambassador Program; People to People; and executive committee member of the Board of Trustees of the American Water Works Association Research Foundation. He also has been Board of Trustees President, Legislative Committee Chair, and 1994 President's Award recipients of the Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies.

In April 1998, he completed a four-year term as Chair of the UI College of Engineering Advisory Board, and in 2002 he completed his term as executive board member of the UI Alumni Association after having served as president of the organization's board of directors for 2000-2001 - the first engineering alumnus to serve in that position. He also has received the UI Alumni Association's Distinguished Alumni Award for Service besides being a member of the College's Distinguished Alumni Academy.


Inducted: Saturday, February 27, 1999