Secretary to the Dean of the Engineering College (1929 – 1969)

Mary Sheedy

During her tenure, Sheedy served under Deans C.C. Williams, Byron J. Lambert, Francis Murray Dawson, Frederick Goodson Higbee, Arthur W. Melloh, Willard L. Boyd, and Hunter Rouse. Hundreds of alumni recall her encouragement, counsel, and advice, without which many admit they would not have earned their degrees. Faculty remembered her running the Dean's Office almost single-handedly, and the student-published Iowa Transit magazine characterized Miss Sheedy as "a grander person you'll never know, a better helper you'll never find, a finer lady you'll never meet, a closer friend you'll never have."

For more information on the Mary Sheedy Scholarship Fund, click here.
For more information on the Mary Sheedy Staff Excellence Award, click here.


Inducted: Saturday, June 12, 2004