Elise Koltonowski

Who am I

Name: Elise Koltonowski

Major: Chemical Engineering

Minor/Certificates: Computer Science; Chemistry

Year: Third-year

Hometown: Plymouth, MN

A Little More About Me

What is one piece of advice you would give to an incoming freshman?

To reach out! College is something totally new so it's really important to try all you can and utilize all the resources offered by the University and by the people around you. Trying new things is where I've had the most fun and made the most connections.

What have you been involved with outside of the COE?

I love volunteering and back home I work at Interfaith Outreach and Community Partners and other small volunteering organizations in my community. I also did research in the Chemistry Department with Shaw Labs.

What has been your favorite or most impactful course?

Math 4: Differential Equations. I enjoy the structure and content of that class--it makes problem solving easy.

Have you done any research with a professor? If so, what department was the professor and what was your research about?

I have done research in the Chemistry Department in Dr. Shaw's Lab. I focused on electrochemical Redox Battery Flow research to work towards better ways to store sustainable energy.

Have you had any international experience? If so, where did you go, for how long, and what did you do?

CIMBA Italy Study Abroad Program though the University. I went in the summer of 2022 for 4 weeks and studied Thermodynamics and Italian Culture. I was also able to travel all over Italy on the 4 day weekends.

What organizations inside the college of engineering do you belong to?

I am a Teaching Assistant for Material and Energy Balances, this will be my second year as a engineering TA! I am also the Vice President for the Society of Women Engineers; an Alumni Outreach Council member of Theta Tau; a member of Tau Beta Pi, Omega Chi Epsilon (Chemical Engineering Honors Society), AIChE (American Institute for Chemical Engineers), and LEaPP (Leadership, Ethics, and Professional Pathways).

What is your favorite part about being a student at The University of Iowa?

I love the community that surrounds the University of Iowa. There is so much school spirit here and everyone is so open to new connections, it really is amazing.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time at The University of Iowa?

I love to go on long walks or bike rides with my friends and enjoy the amazing Iowa campus! I always find fun new places to explore.

Is there something else you'd like to tell us about yourself?

Something fun about me is that I've paraglided, zip-lined, and cliff jumped and my next 'height-involved' goal is to go skydiving (hopefully with Iowa's skydiving club)!


Paragliding during my study abroad program in Italy


Attending the National SWE Conference