Clàudia Archer

Who am I

Name: Clàudia Archer

Major: Biomedical Engineering

Year:  Fourth-year

Hometown: Omaha, NE

A Little More About Me

What is one piece of advice you would give to an incoming freshman?

Try everything once (within reason)! It might just be the thing you thought you'd never enjoy that sparks an idea for your future.

What have you been involved with outside of the COE?

Most of my experience outside of the College of Engineering has been through coursework. For example, I am currently taking Elementary Psychology and Introduction to Therapeutic Recreation. I am thoroughly enjoying both courses, as they have opened my eyes to ideas, professions, and opportunities outside of engineering.

Who is your favorite or most impactful professor and why?

Dr. Colleen Bringman has been my favorite and most impactful professor. I have loved all of the courses I have taken with her and she is very personable and communicative. She is always willing and ready to discuss ideas, concerns, and questions.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time at The University of Iowa?

In my free time at the University of Iowa, I really enjoy exploring downtown Iowa City. There are so many places to visit, including restaurants, shops, and nature!

Is there something else you'd like to tell us about yourself?

I ride my own 2016 Harley Davidson Street 750! My parents also have their own Harleys and we ride together.

What organizations inside the college of engineering do you belong to?

I belong to Iowa 3D (Printing) Club, as President, and the Society of Women Engineers, as a member.

What is your favorite part about being a student at The University of Iowa?

My favorite part is having a close-knit community within the College of Engineering while exposed to all of the University of Iowa's resources/opportunities.

What has been your favorite or most impactful course?

The medical device design course series with Dr. Bringman has been the most impactful to me. I have learned about CAD modeling in Creo, prototyping medical devices, and general information about the medical device industry.

Have you done any research with a professor? If so, what department was the professor and what was your research about?

I have not done research with a University of Iowa professor, but I have done research through Boys Town National Research Hospital's Institute for Human Neuroscience. The study I was involved in explored the differences in cortical activity associated with motor action in persons with Down Syndrome, where they showed a significantly weaker PMBR. We also found behavioral effects in reaction time and accuracy. We speculate PMBR may be a biomarker for accelerated aging and/or preclinical Alzheimer’s disease.

Have you had any international experience? If so, where did you go, for how long, and what did you do?

My mother is from Barcelona and I have traveled there to see my family at least once every year since I was months old. I have also spent time in Shanghai, China to see a foreign exchange student my family hosted at the time and his family. I have also traveled with my family to Mexico, Jamaica, Sicily, Puerto Rico, and Menorca.


2016 Harley Davidson

This is me riding my 2016 Harley Davidson Street 750

club pic

3D Printing Club

This is the Executive Board for Iowa 3D (Printing) Club.