Recent Awards

Casey Harwood

Casey Harwood earns NSF CAREER Award to study fluid-structure interactions

Thursday, December 22, 2022
Fluid-structure interaction (FSI) is at the heart of research of Casey Harwood, University of Iowa assistant professor of mechanical engineering, and the focus of Harwood’s new National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award. 
caterina lamuta

UI engineering professor receives 2023 Young Investigator Program Award for naval research

Tuesday, September 27, 2022
The Office of Naval Research has awarded Caterina Lamuta, a University of Iowa assistant professor of mechanical engineering, funding through the 2023 Young Investigator Program to create “Softopus,” a soft underwater robot with the form and capabilities of a real octopus. 
Jun Wang

UI professor Jun Wang receives 2022 Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award

Friday, September 9, 2022
Jun Wang, a University of Iowa professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, was announced as American Geophysical Union’s (AGU) 2022 Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award recipient.
Headshot of Lee

UI engineering Prof. David Lee honored at international infrastructure conference

Wednesday, August 24, 2022
Hosin “David” Lee, a University of Iowa professor of civil and environmental engineering, was honored at the 5th International Conference on Transportation Infrastructure (ICTI5).
Nicole Grosland

Nicole Grosland Named ELATES Fellow in National Leadership Program

Wednesday, August 17, 2022
Nicole M. Grosland has been selected for the Class of 2022-2023 of Drexel University’s Executive Leadership in Academic Technology, Engineering and Science (ELATES) program. The ELATES program is a national leadership development program designed to promote women in academic STEM fields, and faculty allies of all genders, into institutional leadership roles.
Toor pointing to computer with students

UI engineering professor honored for innovation and as a leader in the field of optics and photonics

Friday, August 12, 2022
Fatima Toor was announced as one of 77 new senior members of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics. The professional organization profiled Toor as one of the optics and photonics women leaders.
Betsy stone

Professor Betsy Stone receives prestigious Fulbright award to research allergens in Australia

Tuesday, July 12, 2022
The University of Iowa is pleased to announce that Betsy Stone, a professor in chemistry and chemical and biochemical engineering, has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to Australia for the 2022-2023 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.
Schnoor in lab

Schnoor receives the 2022 Outstanding Achievements in Environmental Science & Technology Award: The Americas Region from the American Chemical Society

Friday, March 25, 2022
Jerald Schnoor has received the Outstanding Achievements in Environmental Science & Technology Award: The Americas Region from the American Chemical Society (ACS). ACS is one of the world’s largest scientific organizations with membership of over 151,000 in 140 countries.
James Ankur in lab with students

BME Associate Professor Receives Prestigious Fulbright Award to Study Regenerative Medicine in Ireland

Wednesday, March 23, 2022
James Ankrum, has been selected for a Fulbright Scholar Award in Ireland for the 2022-2023 academic year. Ankrum will be working with colleagues at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI), to develop new tools in the field of regenerative medicine for surgeons to promote healing of large and complicated wounds.
Photo of Krajewski in front of field

IFC Director Witold Krajewski among seven UI faculty members named AAAS fellows

Thursday, January 27, 2022
Witold Krajewski was among 7 Iowa faculty named AAAS fellows. Krajewski was selected “for major scientific advances in hydrometeorology, flood prediction, and water resources.”