Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Members of the University of Iowa Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering were recognized at the 2014 AIChE Student Awards ceremony held during the annual conference November 14-17.

The AIChE’s Safety and Health Division awarded the University of Iowa the Ted Ventrone, Ephraim Scheier and Walt Silowska Award.  The award recognizes teams from this year’s Design Competition entries that have made the most appropriate application of inherent safety in their design solutions.

Daniel Yocius was one of 15 winners of the Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer National Scholarship Awards. The award of $1,000 is given to chemical engineering students for their outstanding academic achievement and involvement in student chapter activities.

The UI student chapter of AIChE also received an Outstanding Student Chapter Award.  This is the 10th year in a row for the group to receive this recognition. 

In addition, the College of Engineering ChemE Jeopardy team successfully defended its national title against LSU and UC-Berkeley (

students at jeopardy