In 2023, the University of Iowa College of Engineering introduced the Honored Alumni Awards to recognize alumni for leadership in the profession, service to the college, early career accomplishments, and career achievement.

The program included a day full of tours, activities, and engagement on campus on April 13, 2023, capped with a banquet at the Hilton Garden Inn at which 11 distinguished alumni were honored.

Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy

  • Kim Elsbach, BSE, 1985; MS, 1987
  • Sudhakar Reddy, PhD, 1968
  • Becky Svatos, BSCE, 1982

Alumni Service Award

  • Stephanie Rasing, BSE, 2011

Outstanding Recent Alumni Award

  • Suman Sherwani, BSE, 2019

Alumni Merit Award

  • Michael Fiddelke, BSE, 1999, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Rhett Livengood, BSE, 1985, Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering
  • Dr. Sherri Long, BSE, 1980, Roy J. Carver Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Tom Mepham, BSE, 1986, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Kevin Meredith, BSE, 2001, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Ed Moreno, MS, 1988, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering