The College of Engineering Advisory Board provides value to the College in developing and achieving its strategic plan/vision.  The Board provides advice by drawing upon perspectives, knowledge, and experiences from global trends.  Meanwhile, the College provides awareness and knowledge of new technologies and educational trends, and informs the Board of its progress in achieving the strategic plan.

Board members benefit by being part of ongoing communication between the world of engineering education as represented by The University of Iowa College of Engineering and the full spectrum of engineering activities.

The primary functions of the Board are:

  • Interact with the College of Engineering leadership team
  • Support Departmental, Center, Institute, and other University advisory boards
  • Advocate with other constituencies critical to the success of the College, such as:
    • Professional and Business communities
    • Industry and Government
    • University administration
  • Interact with the College of Engineering Development Council as needed
Kristi Bauerly

Kristi Schmidt Bauerly (Spring 2023)
Human Factors Engineer, Industrial Design
Apple Inc., Cupertino, CA

Bob Kress

Robert E. Kress (Spring 2024)
Managing Director, Accenture Security
Accenture, Chicago, IL

Mike Bauerly

Michael Bauerly (Spring 2024)
Reddit, San Francisco, CA

Adrian LaTrace

Adrian LaTrace (Fall 2022)
Chief Executive Officer
Boyd Industries, Inc., Clearwater, FL

Elizabeth Bernard
Elizabeth Bernard (Spring 2023)
Paul Hastings LLP, Las Vegas, NV
Phil Mayberry
Phillip O. Mayberry (Spring 2023)
Customer Event Director
Emerson Process Management, Marshalltown, IA
Mark Bogue

Mark Bogue (Spring 2022)
Hi-Way Products, Inc., Ida Grove, IA

Matthew McCullough

Matthew McCullough (Spring 2025)
Associate Dean for Graduate Enrollment, Graduate College
North Carolina A&T State University

Pat Coleman

Patricia Coleman (Fall 2026)
Principal (retired)
Thornton-Tomasetti, Dallas, TX

Ronald Metoyer

Ronald A. Metoyer (Spring 2025)
Associate Dean for Diversity & Faculty Development
Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
University of Notre Dame

Barbara Cramer

Barbara L. Cramer (Spring 2025)
Group Director, Custom IC, Systems, Package and Board Business Unit
Cadence Design Systems


Amanda Mikhail, Chair (Spring 2026)
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Steve Davis

Steve Davis (Spring 2023)
President and Owner
BIO::NEOS, Inc., Iowa City, IA

Bernardo Perez

Bernardo A. Perez (Spring 2023)
Director of Engineering
Columbus McKinnon, Charlotte, NC

Chris Day

Christopher S. Day (Spring 2024)
Vice President and Project Principal
Stanley Consultants, Inc., Muscatine, IA

Kathryn Rowen

Kathryn Q. Rowen (Spring 2025)
General Manager
Alliance Laundry Systems

Shelley Hackett

Shelley Hackett (Spring 2027)
Regional Environmental Manager
John Deere, Cedar Falls, IA

Sharon Tinker

Sharon Tinker (Spring 2024)
Process Safety Engineer (retired)
ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, Ankeny, IA

Terry Kouba

Terry Kouba (Spring 2024)
Vice President-Generation Operations
Alliant Energy, Dubuque, IA

Caroline Vaningen-Dunn

Caroline Vaningen-Dunn (Fall 2023)
Director, SFAz Center for STEM at Arizona State University
President and Owner
C.V.I.D. Consulting Services, Tempe, AZ