The College of Engineering is committed to fostering a welcoming equitable and inclusive environment for faculty, staff, students, and visitors to the College. To lead our efforts in this area, in November of 2018 the College established a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Council made up of faculty, staff, and students. The Council meets monthly throughout the academic year.

DEI Council Charge

  • Provide leadership within the college to promote and achieve a culture that values diversity, equity, and inclusion, especially racial/ethnic and gender diversity, as evidenced by COE policies and practices;
  • Lead the college’s engagement in the ASEE Diversity Recognition Program and the creation of the college’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Action Plans; and
  • Provide ongoing feedback and recommendations on proposed new and current DEI related functions to promote a cycle of progress for a more effective DEI and anti-racism infrastructure across all areas and units of the college.



DEI members
Council Members (2020-2021)
Name / Title Of employee Status Unit

Sarah Vigmostad 

Associate Professor

Faculty Biomedical

Cathy Koebrick

Director of Human Resources

Staff Dean’s Office

James Ankrum

Associate Professor

Faculty Biomedical

Josh Atcher

Director, Academic Resources & Support

Staff Academic Programs

Kai Ayala

Undergrad Student   Mechanical 

Er-Wei Bai

DEO & Professor

Faculty Electrical & Computer

Luis Barrera

Undergrad Student   Chemical

Martell Bell

Graduate Student Mechanical

Dina Blanc

Departmental Administrator

Staff Electrical & Computer

Anna Burson

Undergrad Student Chemical

Vance Davis

Undergrad Student Environmental

Jatin Dhamrait


Nicole Grosland

Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Faculty Dean’s Office

Bernice Kubicek

Graduate Student ITI / Electrical & Computer

Kristin Lang

Director, Undergraduate Diversity Programs & Academic Advisor

Staff Academic Programs

Megan Lindmark

Graduate Student IIHR / Civil & Environmental

Joshua Lobb

Academic Program Specialist

Staff Biomedical

Matthew Main

Undergrad Student  Chemical

Dan McGehee

Associate Professor & Director, NADS

Faculty NADS / Industrial & Systems

Priyadarshini Pennathur

Associate Professor

Faculty Industrial & Systems

Jerry Schnoor


Faculty Civil & Environmental

Michael Schrodt

Graduate Student ITI / Biomedical

Kristina Venzke**

Assistant to the Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs & Faculty

Staff Dean’s Office

Kristan Worthington

Assistant Professor

Faculty Biomedical

Brianna Marcelo***

Director, UI Diversity Resources & Strategic Initiatives

Staff University DEI


*Council co-chair

**Council administrative support

***Ex-officio member


Member outside

DEI Programs

DEI programs sponsored by the College of Engineering


Action Plan and Reports

Listening Posts Summary, Annual Report, and FY21 Action Plan




Funding Opportunities

K-12 event kids doing project


The College of Engineering (COE) and the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion (DEI) Council are committed to fostering a welcoming and inclusive environment for COE faculty, staff, and students.

Robyn Williams

Student Professional Development Awards

The DEI Council awards professional development grants to students in the College of Engineering (undergraduate or graduate)

Pentacrest view from Iowa Ave

Undergraduate Scholarships

This new tuition and fees scholarship is open to all undergraduate students promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion activities in the College of Engineering.